Software advice
Best AI Video Generators in 2026
An AI video generator is software that produces moving footage from a text prompt, a still image or a script, either as free-form cinematic clips or as a presenter reading your words. It is not a timeline editor, a stock library or a screen recorder, although several products bundle those features around the generation step.
Quick answer
Runway ranks first for general-purpose clip generation on a self-serve plan. Google Veo through Flow suits people who already pay for a Google AI plan, and Synthesia suits businesses that need a presenter-led training or explainer video.
Buying an AI video generator starts with a split most review lists blur. One group makes short cinematic clips from prompts, where the unit of work is a few seconds of footage and the cost is counted in credits. The other makes presenter or avatar videos from a script, where the unit is minutes of finished video. This ranking judges both groups on one question: what do you get for the monthly fee once credits, resolution caps, watermark rules and commercial terms are applied. One product that many lists still recommend, OpenAI's Sora app, is excluded because OpenAI ended it in April 2026. Prices and limits below were read from vendor pages in October 2026 and change often.
The 9 best AI video generators in 2026, ranked
The order is the verdict, there is no score. No vendor paid for position. How we rank.
| # | Tool | Best for | Free plan | Entry price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Runway | Freelancers and small studios generating short cinematic clips from several models on one plan | Yes | $15 per month (Standard, $12 billed annually) |
| 2 | Google Veo (Flow) | People already on a Google AI plan who want Veo 3.1 clips at predictable credit costs | Yes | $19.99 per month (Google AI Pro) |
| 3 | Luma | Creators who want its Ray models and several outside models on a canvas with audio tools | Trial | $30 per month (Plus, $25 billed annually) |
| 4 | Kling AI | Creators who want Kling's own models directly, including 1080p and 4K tiers | Yes | Quoted |
| 5 | Adobe Firefly | Adobe Creative Cloud users who want video generation next to Premiere and Photoshop | Yes | $9.99 per month (Standard) |
| 6 | Synthesia | Corporate training and internal communications teams producing presenter video in many languages | Yes | $29 per month (Starter) |
| 7 | HeyGen | Marketers and sales teams making avatar videos with photo avatars and translation | Yes | $29 per month (Creator, $24 billed annually) |
| 8 | Invideo AI | Solo creators and small brands assembling finished short videos with voiceover from one prompt | Yes | €20 per seat per month (Starter, €10 on annual billing) |
| 9 | Pika | Hobbyists and social creators wanting low-cost stylized clips and effects | Yes | $10 per month (Starter, $8 billed annually) |
- 1
Runway
Runway takes first place because one Standard plan opens its own Gen-4.5 and Gen-4 models plus hosted engines such as Kling 3.0 and Seedance, without watermarks. Pricing in credits is transparent, with seconds of Gen-4.5 listed per tier. It loses points for a training license in its terms with no stated self-serve opt-out and for credits that run out fast on Standard.
Strong on
- Own models and hosted third-party models share one credit pool on every paid plan
- Pricing page states seconds of Gen-4.5 per plan, so cost per clip is calculable
- Top-up packs never expire, and Max rolls over one month of credits
Weak on
- Standard's 625 credits equal about 52 seconds of Gen-4.5, which disappears in a few iterations
- Terms let Runway train on inputs and outputs, and describe no opt-out for self-serve users
Skip it if: Teams that need a talking presenter in many languages or have a policy against any training use of uploads. Standard includes 625 credits and no watermarks; free is a one-time 125 credits; Max rolls over one month of credits.
- 2
Google Veo (Flow)
Google's Veo 3.1 in Flow ranks second because the credit costs are published per generation and the entry plan doubles as a general Google AI subscription. Fast clips cost 20 credits, Quality 100, and a no-subscription tier gets daily credits. It sits behind Runway because the model menu is Google-only and the help page leaves audio and watermark rules unstated.
Strong on
- Credit cost per Veo 3.1 generation is published for Lite, Fast and Quality
- No-subscription users receive 50 Flow credits per day to test with
- Ultra subscribers pay half the credits per Lite and Fast generation
Weak on
- Clips are 4, 6 or 8 seconds (up to 10 with Omni Flash), so longer scenes need extension or stitching
- Monthly credits do not roll over and reset at each billing cycle
Skip it if: Buyers who want to compare several vendors' video models inside one workspace. Pro includes 1,000 Flow credits a month; use without a subscription gets 50 credits a day; Plus gives 200 credits.
- 3
Luma
Luma places third because its Ray3.2 text-to-video offers 540p to 1080p in 5 or 10 second clips, and the workspace now bundles hosted models, speech, sound and lip sync. The price ladder is clear, but its entry plan costs twice Runway's Standard, and its terms permit training on paid inputs and outputs. Plan cards omit watermark detail.
Strong on
- Ray3.2 lists 540p, 720p and 1080p options for 5 and 10 second clips
- Workspace bundles speech, sound effects, music and lip sync alongside video
- Commercial use is listed from the lowest paid plan
Weak on
- Terms say free-use output cannot be used commercially, and trial output is for internal evaluation
- Plan cards omit watermark and per-plan resolution rules
Skip it if: Anyone who needs an explicit opt-out from model training on their uploaded material. Plus includes 10,000 credits and commercial use; Pro is $90 with 40,000; Ultra is $300 with 150,000.
- 4
Kling AI
Kling ranks fourth because its models are good enough that Runway, Luma and Adobe all host Kling 3.0, which says something about demand. Directly, its membership page lists commercial rights, brand-watermark removal and higher resolutions as paid benefits. It sits below the leaders because plan prices and data terms could not be confirmed on its own pages.
Strong on
- Kling 3.0 is hosted inside Runway, Luma and Adobe Firefly, so you can test it elsewhere first
- Membership page lists commercial use and brand watermark removal as paid benefits
- A developer platform with its own pricing exists for API use
Weak on
- Paid terms enable auto-renewal and credit auto-recharge, and recharged credits cannot be refunded
- Output ownership and training terms were not found in Kling's documentation
Skip it if: Buyers who need a documented data-handling position or a European company on the contract. Plans are monthly credit memberships in tiers named Standard, Pro, Premier and Ultra; monthly credits expire after one month and purchased credits after two years. The entry-tier price and credit count could not be confirmed from Kling's own pages.
- 5
Adobe Firefly
Adobe Firefly ranks fifth because it offers the cheapest paid entry in the clip-generation group and states that Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial use. The video allowance is thin at 20 five-second clips, and partner models from Runway, Kling and Luma carry different terms, so it works best as an add-on for people who already live in Adobe tools.
Strong on
- Cheapest paid entry among the clip generators at $9.99 per month
- Adobe states Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial use
- Partner models from Runway, Kling and Luma are selectable in one place
Weak on
- Standard covers up to 20 five-second videos a month
- Responsibility for commercial suitability of partner-model output sits with the creator
Skip it if: Producers who need long clips or high volumes without paying for the $49.99 or $199.99 tiers. Standard includes 2,000 generative credits, up to 20 five-second videos; credits reset monthly and do not roll over.
- 6
Synthesia
Synthesia is the first avatar tool in this list because its compliance record is the most fully documented: SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, 27701 and 42001 are listed on its trust center, with EU data residency stated in its help center. Pricing is per minute of video, so it is a poor value for cinematic clips and a good one for repeatable corporate scripts.
Strong on
- Trust center lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, 27701 and 42001 certifications
- 140+ voices and languages, with 125+ avatars from Starter
- Pro lists about 60 minutes of video a month and personal avatars
Weak on
- Free Basic plan adds a watermark and is limited to 10 minutes of video
- Only a presenter format is offered, so footage with scenes and action needs another tool
Skip it if: Creators wanting cinematic b-roll, product visualizations or stylized animation from a prompt. Starter lists 1,250 credits and about 12 minutes of video; free Basic carries a watermark.
- 7
HeyGen
HeyGen is seventh overall and second among avatar tools because its limits are explicit on the price page: 30-minute videos from Creator, 4K from Pro, and unlimited photo avatars. It ranks below Synthesia because its terms for paid plans license content for training, which sits awkwardly beside its no-training marketing statement. Pricing tiers rise steeply.
Strong on
- Free plan allows 3 videos a month up to 1 minute at up to 1080p
- Creator and above remove watermarks and allow 30-minute videos
- Unlimited photo avatars on paid plans, with stock avatars (HeyGen cites 200+)
Weak on
- Paid-plan terms license content to train and improve models, while marketing says it does not train on content
- Free-plan output is licensed for personal and internal evaluation use only
Skip it if: Legal or regulated teams that need training exclusion in the contract rather than on a web page. Creator includes 600 credits, 1080p and watermark removal; Pro at $49 adds 4K; free allows 3 videos a month.
- 8
Invideo AI
Invideo AI ranks eighth because it builds a whole video, with clips, voiceover and stock, instead of a single shot, which suits fast social output. Its terms say it will not train on user data, a clearer position than several rivals. It falls lower because plan pages leave watermark and commercial detail unstated and credit estimates are approximate.
Strong on
- Terms state it will not use user data to train or fine-tune its models
- Plus and Max tiers list Seedance 2.5 at 1080p and Seedance 2.0 at 4K
- Paid plans include premium stock footage and up to 20 seats on Max
Weak on
- Third-party reviews describe a watermarked free tier; the vendor pricing page does not state it
- Starter is capped at 5 seats and lacks the newer Seedance version
Skip it if: Anyone who needs a documented watermark rule or fixed credit costs before committing. Starter gives 400 credits and only Seedance Fast and Mini; Plus at €30 annual unlocks Seedance 2.5 at 1080p.
- 9
Pika
Pika closes this list because the free tier has no monthly credits and commercial rights begin only at the $35 Creator plan, so the useful tier costs more than Runway's Standard. Its terms also allow training on anonymized content. It stays in because the $10 entry tier is among the cheapest and watermarks are not listed on paid plans.
Strong on
- Paid plans list no watermark, starting at $10 per month
- Creator tier adds commercial rights at $35 per month with 3,150 credits
- Top-up credit packs are available even on the free tier
Weak on
- Starter and Free do not include commercial use under the pricing page
- Pricing page does not state per-plan resolution or clip length
Skip it if: Commercial producers who need a clear resolution cap and clip length before paying. Starter gives 900 credits without commercial rights; Creator at $35 gives 3,150 credits and commercial use.
How these AI video generators were judged
How good is the footage, and how much control do you get over it?
Footage quality splits by job. For prompt-to-clip work, the practical differences are model choice, how many seconds a clip can run, and whether you can steer camera and motion. Runway exposes several of its own models and hosted third-party ones such as Kling 3.0, which gives a buyer a way to compare engines without a second subscription. Luma and Adobe Firefly also host outside models. For presenter video, quality means avatar realism, voice, language count and how editable the script is after rendering. Judgments here describe design trade-offs, not benchmark scores, because no single public test settles the question for every subject.
What does a month of AI video generation really cost?
Almost every plan sells credits, and a credit buys different amounts of footage depending on the model. Runway's own pricing page shows 625 monthly credits on its Standard plan, worth about 52 seconds of Gen-4.5. Google Flow prices Veo 3.1 Fast at 20 credits per generation and Quality at 100, so a 1,000-credit Pro allowance covers 50 Fast clips or 10 Quality ones. Presenter tools quote minutes instead: Synthesia lists roughly 12 minutes of video on Starter. Unused credits generally expire monthly, so plan for the number of finished clips you need, not the headline credit count. Prices are as of October 2026.
Do these vendors train on your prompts, uploads and videos?
Policies differ and several are less private than the marketing suggests. Runway's terms say inputs and outputs may be used to train its models, and they describe no opt-out for self-serve users. Luma's terms say the same for paid use and give a broader license for free use. Pika's terms allow training on anonymized or aggregated content. Invideo's terms state it will not train on user data, with a caveat for experimental third-party providers. HeyGen publishes a no-training statement on its marketing pages, while its terms for paid plans license content for model improvement. Read the terms, not the landing page, before uploading client footage or real faces.
How hard is it to leave once your videos and avatars live there?
Rendered files are portable, so the lock-in sits in what makes them repeatable. Custom avatars and cloned voices on Synthesia or HeyGen cannot be exported to a competitor, and a team that standardizes training videos on one avatar must rebuild it elsewhere. Prompt libraries and reference images transfer by copy and paste, but model behavior does not: a prompt tuned to one engine rarely reproduces on another. Credit packs that never expire, such as Runway's top-ups, reduce the cost of pausing a subscription. Annual billing discounts of 20 percent or more are common and tie you to a vendor for twelve months.
Which AI video generator fits a freelancer, a marketing team or a training department?
A freelancer making short social or concept clips fits Runway or Luma, where several models share one credit pool. A marketing team already inside Adobe or Google plans can start with Firefly or Flow before buying anything new. A training or communications department that needs the same presenter across dozens of languages belongs on Synthesia or HeyGen, where compliance paperwork matters more than cinematic range. A solo creator who wants a finished short video from one prompt should look at Invideo AI. Nobody producing broadcast-length narrative work should expect a single prompt tool to hold character continuity across scenes.
How to choose an AI video generator in three steps
- Decide whether you need clips or a presenter. Write down the last three videos you needed. If each one had a person speaking a script to camera, an avatar tool such as Synthesia or HeyGen will be cheaper per finished minute than any prompt generator. If they were atmospheric shots, product visualizations or b-roll, you need a prompt-to-clip tool. Mixing the two jobs in one subscription usually means paying for features you never open. Many teams end up with one of each, and that is a reasonable outcome.
- Convert credits into finished seconds before paying. Take the monthly credit number and divide by the cost of the model and length you would actually use. Runway lists seconds of Gen-4.5 per plan, and Google Flow lists credits per Veo 3.1 generation, so both can be calculated. Then assume two or three discarded takes for every keeper. The answer is the number of usable clips you buy, and it is often a fraction of what the plan card implies. Run the same sum for each shortlisted vendor with identical assumptions, and keep the spreadsheet, because credit costs on several pages are stated as subject to change.
- Check watermark and commercial terms for your plan tier. Free and entry tiers frequently carry restrictions that paid tiers lift: Pika lists commercial rights from its Creator plan, Luma ties commercial use to an active paid subscription, and HeyGen's terms limit free-plan output to personal use. Read the terms for the exact tier you will buy. If you publish client work, also check whether the vendor offers indemnification, which several list only for enterprise agreements. Keep a copy of the terms page you relied on, because wording changes between plan updates and rights are tied to the date you generated the output.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AI video generator in 2026?
Runway ranks first in this list for prompt-based clip generation, because its Standard plan includes all of its video and image models without watermarks and it hosts third-party engines such as Kling 3.0 in the same credit pool. For presenter videos the answer changes to Synthesia or HeyGen.
Is OpenAI's Sora still available?
No for the consumer product. OpenAI's help center states that the Sora web and app experiences were discontinued on April 26, 2026, and that the Sora API is scheduled to end on September 24, 2026. Users were pointed to an export page for their content. This ranking therefore excludes Sora.
Which AI video generator has a free plan without a watermark?
Free tiers are narrow. Runway gives a one-time 125 credits, Google Flow gives 50 credits per day without a subscription, and Synthesia's Basic plan adds its watermark. Watermark behavior on other free tiers was not stated on the pricing pages read, so test an export before relying on it.
How long can an AI generated video clip be?
Prompt tools produce short clips. Google Flow lists Veo 3.1 Lite and Fast at 4, 6 and 8 seconds, with Quality at 8 seconds plus an extend option. Luma's pricing page shows Ray3.2 text-to-video in 5 and 10 second options. Longer finished videos are built by stitching clips or by using an avatar tool.
Can I use AI generated video commercially?
Usually only on a paid plan. Runway's terms do not restrict commercial use of outputs, Luma allows it for output made during an active paid subscription that permits it, and HeyGen limits free-plan output to personal use. Rights also depend on third-party content and model terms, so check the plan you buy.
What is the difference between an AI avatar video and text-to-video?
Text-to-video invents footage from a prompt, so shots vary and need regenerating. Avatar video places a fixed digital presenter or your cloned likeness in front of a script and renders speech with lip sync. Synthesia and HeyGen sell the second kind, priced in minutes and credits per video.
Do AI video generators add sound and speech to clips?
Some do, and the pricing pages differ on how. Runway's page lists audio models for sound and text to speech, and Luma lists text to speech, sound effects, music and lip sync. Google's Flow credits page does not describe audio. Treat sound as something to confirm per model before you buy.
Is it cheaper to buy credits or a subscription?
A subscription lowers the price per credit, but monthly credits usually expire. Runway sells top-up packs of at least 1,000 credits that never expire, and Max rolls over one month of unused credits. If you generate in bursts, a lower plan plus top-ups can cost less than a larger tier.